How to Quickly Reset Your Data and Location Access Permissions on iPhone - MacRumorsOpen MenuShow RoundupsShow Forums menuVisit ForumsOpen Sidebar
Skip to Content

How to Quickly Reset Your Data and Location Access Permissions on iPhone

by

In iOS 16, Apple added a new Safety Check feature that's designed to make it easy for users to quickly reset all of the data and location access that they have granted to other people. Keep reading to learn how it works and how to use it.

Apple Privacy Yellow
Safety Check is a new option in iOS 16 that lets you stay aware of and reset all of the access to your data and location that you have granted to others. Apple says the idea behind it is to help people in domestic or intimate partner violence situations. Here's how to use the feature.

  1. Launch the Settings app on your iPhone.
  2. Scroll down and tap through to Privacy & Security.
  3. Scroll down and select Safety Check.

The Safety Check opening screen presents you with two options: Emergency Reset and Manage Sharing & Access. (Note the Quick Exit button that takes you right to the iPhone's Home Screen in case you're in danger of getting caught using it.)

Emergency Reset

Emergency Reset is a one-tap option that lets you protect your iOS device with just a couple of taps.

ios 16 safety check emergency reset
When you use Emergency Reset, it immediately stops sharing everything with all people and apps. This includes things like location information, activity, home data, photo albums, and more.

Emergency Reset also lets you remove all emergency contacts from your iPhone and reset your Apple ID and password so that no one can log into your account.

Manage Sharing

If your situation isn't an emergency, you can use the Manage Sharing & Access option. This includes a walkthrough that lets you see an overview of what you're sharing so you can't be secretly tracked or monitored using location sharing, shared albums, or other ‌iPhone‌ features.

ios 16 manage sharing
These screens include information on who you're sharing data with and what data those people have access to, along with which apps have access to your data. You can select people or apps and choose the "Stop Sharing" option to turn off sharing right away.

There's also a list of all the third-party apps that you have installed and what data they have access to, along with tools to disable that access. You can see which permissions an app has on an individual basis, or by data such as Bluetooth, Location, Contacts, and more.

ios 16 manage sharing 2
Lastly, Manage Sharing can tell you exactly which devices your iCloud account is logged into, giving you the option to log out, and you can use it to reset your ‌‌Apple ID‌‌ and password as well as deactivate Emergency contacts.

Popular Stories

iOS 27 Next to iPhone

Here's When iOS 27 Rolls Out Today in Every Time Zone [Update: It's Out]

Sunday September 13, 2026 3:00 am PDT by
Update 10:04 a.m.: iOS 27 is rolling out now, though it may take a bit for all users to see it, so keep checking! Apple is about to release iOS 27, which will finally deliver more advanced Siri AI capabilities as well as a variety of other refinements, improvements, and new features to iPhones. It's Apple's biggest software update of the year, and Apple announced at Wednesday's iPhone event...
iOS 27 Icon iPhone

iOS 27 Available Now With These 8 New Features

Monday September 14, 2026 9:00 am PDT by
Update — 10 a.m. Pacific Time: Apple has released iOS 27. During its iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone Duo event last week, Apple announced that iOS 27 will be released widely on Monday, September 14. iOS 27 should be available around 10 a.m. Pacific Time / 1 p.m. Eastern Time today via the Settings app, under General → Software Update. Below, we have highlighted eight new features and...
Apple iCloud Plus expansion hero

iCloud+ Now Includes Apple TV, Apple Arcade, and Curated Apple Music Stations in Over 100 Countries

Tuesday September 15, 2026 1:43 am PDT by
Apple today announced a new subscription initiative that turns paid iCloud+ subscriptions into a broader services bundle in more than 100 countries. In select countries, Apple says every paid iCloud+ plan, including the cheapest 50GB tier, now includes Apple TV and Apple Arcade "at no additional cost," while family sharing extends the storage, TV and Arcade access to up to five people....

🔗 Related Apple News & Rumors

Stay updated with the latest Apple ecosystem news and verified rumors