Google Photos Stops Backing Up Social Media Folders By Default - MacRumorsOpen MenuShow RoundupsShow Forums menuVisit ForumsOpen Sidebar
Skip to Content

Google Photos Stops Backing Up Social Media Folders By Default

by

google photos new icon black backgroundGoogle Photos has stopped backing up images and videos from folders created by social media and messaging apps like WhatsApp, Messages, and TikTok (via Android Police).

Previously, Google's photo app would automatically upload all media saved to an iOS device, including any files saved in folders originating from social and messaging apps.

Google says it's now turning off this aspect of its cloud photo backup service "to save internet resources" as people share more photos and videos amid the ongoing global health crisis.

Users can reverse this change and re-enable backup of photos and video from social media and messaging apps by following these instructions.

Other digital services including YouTube and Disney+ adopted similar measures to reduce bandwidth strain caused by the global health crisis several months ago.

Top Rated Comments

81 months ago
am i the only one that hates the new google photos logo
Score: 4 Votes (Like | Disagree)
69Mustang Avatar
81 months ago

I was just saying this morning to a friend how bloody aggressive this app is. I hate how if you try to delete uploaded media from the app, it will also delete it from ios photos too. And if you try to turn off app permissions to read and write, the app gets blocked from opening. My friend uses it to send me uncompressed media files which is the only reason I want to use it. But I’m very tempted to delete it.
It's aggressive because it sounds as if it's set that way. Turn off auto-sync and back up. ← That's what you're phone is doing... syncing and backing up. It's why both are being deleted. You don't need to turn off app permissions, just the auto-sync and back up function.


Could it be related to the fact that in IOS 14 such behavior may raise eyebrows as people realize how intrusive this is.
No it is not.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
81 months ago
Could it be related to the fact that in IOS 14 such behavior may raise eyebrows as people realize how intrusive this is.
Score: 2 Votes (Like | Disagree)
81 months ago
I was just saying this morning to a friend how bloody aggressive this app is. I hate how if you try to delete uploaded media from the app, it will also delete it from ios photos too. And if you try to turn off app permissions to read and write, the app gets blocked from opening. My friend uses it to send me uncompressed media files which is the only reason I want to use it. But I’m very tempted to delete it.
Score: 1 Votes (Like | Disagree)

Popular Stories

iOS 27 Next to iPhone

Here's When iOS 27 Rolls Out Today in Every Time Zone [Update: It's Out]

Sunday September 13, 2026 3:00 am PDT by
Update 10:04 a.m.: iOS 27 is rolling out now, though it may take a bit for all users to see it, so keep checking! Apple is about to release iOS 27, which will finally deliver more advanced Siri AI capabilities as well as a variety of other refinements, improvements, and new features to iPhones. It's Apple's biggest software update of the year, and Apple announced at Wednesday's iPhone event...
iOS 27 Icon iPhone

iOS 27 Available Now With These 8 New Features

Monday September 14, 2026 9:00 am PDT by
Update — 10 a.m. Pacific Time: Apple has released iOS 27. During its iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone Duo event last week, Apple announced that iOS 27 will be released widely on Monday, September 14. iOS 27 should be available around 10 a.m. Pacific Time / 1 p.m. Eastern Time today via the Settings app, under General → Software Update. Below, we have highlighted eight new features and...
Apple iCloud Plus expansion hero

iCloud+ Now Includes Apple TV, Apple Arcade, and Curated Apple Music Stations in Over 100 Countries

Tuesday September 15, 2026 1:43 am PDT by
Apple today announced a new subscription initiative that turns paid iCloud+ subscriptions into a broader services bundle in more than 100 countries. In select countries, Apple says every paid iCloud+ plan, including the cheapest 50GB tier, now includes Apple TV and Apple Arcade "at no additional cost," while family sharing extends the storage, TV and Arcade access to up to five people....

🔗 Related Apple News & Rumors

Stay updated with the latest Apple ecosystem news and verified rumors